Abilene High School cheer squad coaches Kim Funston and Becky Stout recently announced the cheer squads for the 2020-2021 school year.

Leading the cheer for the Cowboys at the newly renovated Cowboy Stadium will be captain Anika Cox. She will have Maggie Gantenbien, Heidi Schlesner, Zoe Millner, Arden Cathey, Jessa Howard, Rosie Hazlett, Mia Johnson, Katherine Coleman, Maci Meuli, Elise Ketcher and Sonya Ketcher on the football squad.

Cheering at Cowboy and Cowgirl basketball games will be captain Anna Schafer and her group of Amelia Arevado, Haylee Anguiano, Tearney McGivney, Allie Cross, Jentree McGivney, Aelyn Arevado-Pecina, Erica Lynn, Evelynn Ediger and Ava Crist.

The 2020-2021 cheerleaders for wrestling season will be captain Trisha Heitschmidt, Trinity McMillan, Gabby Guilen, Elisa Ramos-Day and Rylee Jamison.

Contact Ron Preston at sports@abilene-rc.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.