At long last, the Kansas State football team has announced its captains for the upcoming football season.

They are split into three tiers.

The two main captains are senior right tackle Dalton Risner and junior quarterback Alex Delton. Six co-captains will assist them at weekly meetings and during pregame obligations. They are: Kendall Adams, Duke Shelley, Trey Dishon, Reggie Walker, Skylar Thompson and Alex Barnes. Colby Moore, a former walk-on, will also serve as honorary special teams captain.

This is a new setup under K-State coach Bill Snyder.

 K-State players usually vote on captains and lock a handful of them into place at the spring game. This year, the Wildcats waited until preseason camp to choose captains, and they elected more than usual.

Risner appears ready to once again set the tone. This will be his third straight year as a captain. He joins Brooks Barta, Mark Simoneau, Collin Klein and B.J. Finney as the only K-State football players to serve as captain in back-to-back-to-back years.

Delton, who is competing with Thompson for the starting QB job, will join him as a primary captain for the first time.

K-State appeared close to settling on captains at its Fan Appreciation Day over the weekend, when Snyder asked Risner, Delton, Shelley, Moore and Thompson to speak in front of the crowd.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.