Foundation president

Bruce Young Taylor gives the gavel to Mark Wilson who is the new president of the Community Foundation of Dickinson County.

Over 120 people celebrated the Community Foundation of Dickinson County’s 2017 achievements at their annual meeting April 27 held at the Eisenhower Presidential Library Courtyard.

The Community Foundation awarded an unprecedented number of $955,000 in grants in 2017. This was an increase of over $500,000 from the previous year. The Community Foundation has assets of over $11 million with $5.2 million awarded in grants over its 19-year history.

The Community Foundation’s annual report featured an article on “The Anonymous Donor”.

“There are donors who give generously to the foundation and their wish is to remain anonymous,” said Elizabeth Weese, executive director. “The Community Foundation is honored to work with and assist all types of donors with their philanthropic giving while they are living and their philanthropic legacy upon their passing. That is the beauty of the Community Foundation. We are Dickinson County’s resource for charitable giving.”

Bruce Taylor, board president, thanked out-going board members, Loren Barten, Tom Canfield and Kent Wyatt for their service to the Foundation. Each was honored with a $250 grant to the charity of their choice. Barten chose the Chapman Community Foundation, an affiliate of the Community Foundation of Dickinson County, Canfield and Wyatt chose the United Way of Dickinson County.

During the meeting, Weese announced the Gift of Grain, allowing farmers to donate grain to the Foundation during harvest. She also spoke that policies are being drawn up to accept farmland with the understanding that should a donor choose, the Foundation would retain and manage the land.

The evening included a special gifting of $3,000 in grants to non-profits. The lucky recipients are as follows: Abilene Rotary Club - $400 in honor of Ingeborg Teasley & Dr. Mike Whitehair; The Community Foundation of Dickinson County - $200 in honor of Don & Pat Berkley; Dickinson County Economic Development Corporation - $200 in honor of Chuck Scott; The Eisenhower Foundation - $400 in honor of Jeff Sleichter and Don & Mary Rickley; Great Plains Theatre - $600 in honor of David McClain, Mark Warner and Kat McKee; The Hope Center - $200 in honor of Dave Rempe; Bob Johnson Scholarship Fund - $200 in honor of an anonymous donor; Neighbor to Neighbor - $200 in honor of Jo Schwartz; St. Andrews Parochial School - $400 in honor of Randy Gassman and Tim Johnson; and The United Way of Dickinson County - $200 in honor of Dee Rodda.

The evening concluded with outgoing board president Taylor passing the gavel to incoming board president Mark Wilson who made the announcement that an additional $250 grant was made to The Arts Council of Dickinson County in Bruce’s honor to thank him for his service to the Board and the Foundation.

Preceding the meeting was a catered dinner by West’s County Mart which was served by the youth of Great Plains Theatre.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.