The deadline to file for an elected office on area city councils/commissions, school and hospital boards is less than a week away.

The Kansas filing deadline is noon on Monday, June 3. That’s also the withdrawal date in case anyone who previously filed changes his or her mind.

The filing fee is $20 for all positions. All filings must be done at the Dickinson County Clerk’s office in the courthouse in Abilene, located at 109 E. First St.

Positions on most boards in Dickinson County are up for election this year. Only three cities — Carlton, Manchester and Woodbine — do not have any positions up for election.

The June 3 filing deadline also is applicable to anyone wishing a seat on the Red Bud Lake Improvement District. Legislation recently was enacted that changed the deadline to June rather than September, which was previously the case.

Recent filings

Several people have filed for office in recent days.

Incumbent Dee Marshall of Abilene filed Friday, May 24 to retain her seat on the Abilene City Commission. She and Incumbent Timothy B. Shafer are the only two who have filed for an Abilene elected office at this time. The seat currently held by Sharon A. Petersen also is up for grabs.

Incumbent Randy J. Gassman of Abilene decided to seek re-election to the Abilene USD 435 Board of Education. Gassman currently holds the Member At Large seat. He is facing a challenge from Amy Meysenburg of Abilene who also filed for the position.

Brittney Ann Lorson of Hope filed on Friday, May 24 for the Position 4 seat on the USD 481 Rural Vista Board of Education. Lorson was appointed to fill the position previously held by Vicki Gruber.

Incumbent Lindy Blank filed to retain her seat on the Herington USD 487 Board of Education. Three other candidates also have filed for seats on the school board, including Incumbent Mark A. Wendt, Ryan Stevenson and Jeremy Anschutz.

Incumbent William “Billy” Hemmy of Solomon filed May 17 to remain on the Solomon City Council. Only two council positions are open on the Solomon council; the other currently is occupied by Anna M. Bush.

Contact Kathy Hageman at reporter@abilene-rc.com.

Contact Tim Horan at editor@abilene-rc.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.