No primaries will be needed to narrow down the candidate pool for any Dickinson County race with open positions, according to Dickinson County Clerk/Election Officer Barb Jones.

The filing deadline ended at noon Monday for open positions on area city councils/commissions, school boards and hospital boards. Many filed in the final week leading up to the deadline.

One school board race — for USD 481 Hope (Rural Vista) — has four open positions but no candidates for three of the positions.

The general election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 5.

The following is a listing of the candidates who filed for the open positions and their cities of residence. An “I” indicates incumbent:

Abilene City Commission

(3 positions open; top 2 vote-getters receive 4-year terms; next highest vote-getter receives 2-year term)

Timothy B. Shafer (I), Abilene

Dee Marshall (I), Abilene

Phil Hamilton, Abilene

Brandon L. Rein, Abilene

William Hane, Abilene

Chapman City Council member

(3 positions open, 2-year terms)

Tim Jury (I), Chapman

Jim Bell, Chapman

Dana Gaither, Chapman

Enterprise City Council member

(3 positions open, 4-year terms)

David A. McGuire, Enterprise

Tim Clark (I), Enterprise

Jody Sare, Enterprise

Jamie R. Neal, Enterprise

Carrie Sprouse (I) Enterprise

Herington City


(1 position open, 3-year term)

Vance E. Donahue II, Herington

David M. Jones (I), Herington

Kathleen “Kat” Souza, Herington

Hope City Mayor

(1 position open, 4-year term)

Larry Ryff (I), Hope

Hope City Council


(2 positions open, 4-year terms)

Ginger Stewart, Hope

Solomon City Mayor

(1 position open, 4-year term)

R. Hunter McMillen (I), Solomon.

Solomon City Council


(2 positions open, 4-year terms)

William (Billy) Hemmy (I), Solomon

Anna M. Bush (I), Solomon

Memorial Health System Board of Trustees

(3 positions open, 4-year terms)

Dennis Biggs (I), Abilene

J. Steven Schwarting (I), Abilene

Mildred E. Fink (I), Chapman

John Hultgren, Enterprise

Herington Hospital Board of Trustees

(1 position open, 3-year term)

Dan McDonald, Herington

Leslie Mayes (I), Herington

Red Bud Lake

Improvement District

(3 positions open, 2-year terms)

Ronald J. “Joe” Nold (I), Abilene

Machelle A. Bennett (I), Abilene

Cathy Cosby (I), Abilene

USD 393 Solomon

(All 4-year terms)

District 1, Position 1: Carrie Herbel (I), Solomon

District 2, Position 2: Justin D. Zerbe (I), Solomon

District 3, Position 3: Andrea L. McCook (I), Solomon

At Large Position: Brad Homman (I), Solomon

USD 435 Abilene

(All 4-year terms)

District 1, Position 1: Veronica E. Murray, Abilene

District 2, Position 2: Robert G. Keener, Abilene

District 3, Position 3: Jennifer Waite (District 1 Incumbent), Abilene

At Large Position: Amy Meysenburg, Abilene, & Randy J. Gassman (I), Abilene

USD 473 Chapman

(All 4-year terms)

District 1, Position 1: Brenda Edleston, Chapman

District 2, Position 2: Jerry Wright, Chapman, & Lara Strauss (I), Junction City

District 3, Position 3: Brian L. Rock (I), Hope

At Large Position: Todd A. Frieze (I), Chapman

USD 481 Hope

(All 4-year terms)

District 1, Position 1: No filings

District 2, Position 2: No filings

District 2, Position 4: Brittney Ann Lorson (I), Hope

At Large Position: No filings

USD 487 Herington

(All At Large Positions, 4-year terms)

Mark A. Wendt (I), Herington

Ryan Stevenson, Herington

Jeremy Anschutz, Herington

Lindy Blank (I), Herington

Nicole Will, Herington

Contact Kathy Hageman at reporter@abilene-rc.com

Contact Tim Horan at editor@abilene-rc.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.